Seven creative schoolchildren visited the mayor’s parlour at Harpenden Town Hall after being named the winners of a story writing competition.

The Harpenden and Villages Schools Writing Competition was launched earlier in the spring term when all the local primary schools were invited to send in the best story written by a member of their class.

The stories were then judged by a panel of headteachers and the mayor of Harpenden Rosemary Farmer.

She said: "'I was delighted to present certificates and prizes to the winners of the Writing Competition. I was amazed at the variety, imagination and standard of writing that went into the stories and heartily congratulate all the winners."

The winners in each category were: Reception, Martha Bainbridge from Beech Hyde Primary School; Year 1, Rowan O’Brian from Redbourn Infant & Nursery School; Year 2, Imogen Crooks from Redbourn Infant & Nursery School; Year 3,  Daisy Ronald from Manland Primary School; Year 4, Jack Hegarty from Manland Primary School; Year 5, Kayleigh Stevens from Sauncey Wood Primary School; and Year 6, Jack Mitchell from Wood End School.