Report this comment
  • "BCF, That's why I am voting UKIP in this election.

    I am also fed up with the open door immigration policy we have in the UK, it has totally changed our country beyond recognition over the last 10 year or so.

    I just can't bring myself to voting for BNP, I don't think I could forgive myself.

    I am not a racist person, and have no ill feelings to others, I just dont think we should have so many here that's all.

    You should have a look into UKIP's website. You would probably like what they are saying."
  • This field is mandatory
  • This field is mandatory
  • Please note we will not accept reports with HTML tags or URLs in them.

  • Enter the above word in the box below

BNP runs for St Albans District Council

BNP activist Danny Seabrook

BNP activist Danny Seabrook

First published in News St Albans & Harpenden Review: Photograph of the Author by

THE British National Party has for the first time put forward candidates to stand for election to St Albans District Council.

Undeterred by a spate of political failings across the county, the far right party is fielding Danny Seabrook in London Colney, and claims to have nominated Roger Bailey in Batchwood ward, although his name does not appear on the official list provided by the district council.

After a trouncing at the London Colney Parish Council by-election in February, Mr Seabrook, a building firm manager by trade, pledged an impending return to local politics.

Staying true to his word, the 37-year-old BNP activist will now fight for a foothold in the village, this time at district level. If elected, Mr Seabrook, who lives in London Colney, has vowed to fight 'tooth and nail' to 'preserve' the village from the siting of further mosques. It follows the controversial approval of an islamic prayer centre in the village earlier this year.

Mr Seabrook, who is also going head to head against mainstream parties for the parliamentary seat in Hertsmere, told the Review: "The first action in the village would be to preserve what London Colney has and not to add to it. As it's a small village, people want it to stay a small village.

"People are genuinely worried about what's going on with the Islamic community and they can see which way it's going to go."

The full list of candidates for St Albans District Council elections on May 6 are as follows: Batchwood

Amanda Archer (LibDem) Naomi Love (Green) Roma Mills (Labour) Tim Smith (Conservative)

Marshalswick South

Salih Gaygusuz (Conservative) Jill Mills (Green) Anthony Nicholson (Labour) Rod Perks (LibDem)


Dursun Altun (Conservative) Pete Eggleston (Green) Helen Ives-Rose (Labour) Joyce Lusby (LibDem)

St Peters

John Baker (Labour) Michael Green (LibDem) Simon Grover (Green) Emma Harding (Conservative)


Catherine barron (LibDem) Netta Gibbs (Labour) Margaret Grover (Green) Philip Roe (UKIP) Nathanael Young (Conservative)


Kate Metcalf (Green) David Poor (LibDem) Janet Smith (Labour) Bruce Snell (Conservative)


John Metcalf (Labour) Rob Prowse (LibDem) Greg Riener (Green) James Vessey (Conservative)

Ashley Ward

John Paton (Labour) Anthony Rowlands (LibDem) Graham Ward (Green) Guy Young (Conservative)

Colney Heath

Robert Barton (Green) Jamie Day (LibDem) Michael Mulholland (Labour) Lynn Myland (Conservative)


Helen Bishop (LibDem) Richard Harris (Labour) Beric Read (Conservative) Ian Troughton (Green)

Marshalswick North

Tom Clegg (LibDem) John Foster (Conservative) Ruairi McCourt (Labour) Rosalind Paul (Green)


Jane Cloke (Labour) Roger Gray (Conservative) Thomas Hardy (Green) Colin O'Donovan (LibDem)

London Colney

Tamara Fogarty (Green) Dreda Gordon (Labour) Vibs Nazeri (LibDem) Danny Seabrook (BNP) Irene Willcocks (Conservative)

Park Street

Dominic Benson (Labour) Lucy Eggleston (Green) Mark Ewington (Independant) Roger Gray (UKIP) Aislinn Lee (LibDem) Stella Nash (Conservative)

St Stephen Ward

Lesley Baker (Green) Janet Blackwell (Labour) Sue Featherstone (Conservative) Jon Humphrey (LibDem)


Annie Brewster (Conservative) David Lawlor (Labour) Judy Shardlow (LibDem) Kristian Tizzard (Green)

Harpenden East

Tim Blackwell (Green) Richard Lane (Labour) Dean Russell (Conservative) Alison Steer (LibDem)

Harpenden North

Gordon Burrow (LibDem) Rosemary Ross (Labour) Annett Tate (Green) Geoffrey Turner (Conservative)

Harpenden South

Tony Grover (Green) Teresa Heritage (Conservative) Paul Spinks (LibDem) Linda Ann Spiri (Labour)

Harpenden West

Julian Daly (Conservative) Ben Dearman (Labour) Lydia El-Khouri (Green) Jeff Phillips (LibDem)

Comments (14)

Please log in to enable comment sorting

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree