St Albans win Maurice Watson Trophy

St Albans won the Maurice Watson Trophy

St Albans won the Maurice Watson Trophy

First published in Sport

St Albans Bowling Club won the Maurice Watson Trophy after a 30-12 win over Hemel Hempstead.

The Maurice Watson Trophy was donated by the family of a former president of the St Albans & District Bowling Association.

This year teams of four participated from member clubs with the side with the highest winning difference taking the trophy. The St Albans team of Alan Turner, John Cooper, Andy Kay and John Bartlett were the victors.

In the County Fours competition, Pauline Gardiner, Barbara Davis, Eileen Englebright and Tricia Gascoine beat a Welwyn Garden City team skipped by Helen Cox 28-11.

St Albans defeated Hemel Hempstead 98-80 on Sunday. The top rink was Turner, Barbara Davis, Jacy Farrer and Peter Kay (24-11).

The midweek men played Hatfield in the District League on Wednesday and lost 83-78. The top rink for St Albans was Oliver Wall, Colin Smith, Neville Simons and Tony Rylands (32-10).

St Albans played a strong team from Welwyn & District Bowls Club in the County Club Championship losing 78-37.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree