Conservatives are tonight celebrating the result of the St Albans District Council by-election in which their candidates Steve McKeown and Richard Curthoys came out on top.

The Marshalswick South by-election for two seats on the district council was called following the resignations of Heidi Allen and Seema Kennedy, who have both become Tory parliamentary candidates - for South Ribble and South East Cambs respectively.

The voter turnout was 37.5 per cent.

The votes were counted tonight at the council’s offices in St Peter’s Street after the polling stations closed at 10pm.

The results were as follows:

Richard Curthoys Conservative Party - 647 (E)

David Francis Dickson UK Independence Party (UKIP) - 148

Richard Harris Labour Party - 406

Michael David Hollins UK Independence Party (UKIP) - 147

Steve McKeown Conservative Party - 667 (E)

Jill Mills Green Party - 450

Elizabeth Ann Needham Liberal Democrat - 488

Mark Anthony Pedroz Liberal Democrat - 495

Tim Robinson Green Party - 166

Vivienne Windle Labour Party - 312


Full story tomorrow.