Finally, it is time to select your region's Members of European Parliament (MEPs).

People across the UK will be heading to their nearest polling stations today (Thursday, May 23) to choose the party they want to represent them in Parliament. 

MEPs pass laws in the European Parliament, and will not be involved in negotiations or talks about Brexit. But how we vote could send a strong message to the country's leaders. 

The votes will be counted up using a proportional form of voting call D’Hondt. It allocates seats using a formula based on the percentage of the vote a party wins per region.

Why you should vote today

Reporter Sophie Jackson spoke to two voters at polling stations in Watford today.

Steve Carpenter, 57, a secondary school teacher said: “It is important to vote as it is our duty, a lot of people fought long and hard for freedom of speech, so it should be exercised. It is a chance to share our opinion otherwise democracy is not working.

“People may vote as a backlash to Brexit as fed up with it.

“Our choices have an important impact and we need to take a view, not give up!"

Elizabeth Timmons, from Watford (pictured below), said: “I am angry at people who do not vote, years ago people went through hardship for us to do so and we should feel privileged that we can.”

St Albans & Harpenden Review:

Who can I vote for in the East of England region?

There are seven MEP positions for the Eastern region. Your candidates are:

Change UK

Emma Taylor, Neil Carmichael, Bhavna Joshi, Michelle de Vries, Amanda Gummer, Thomas Graham, Roger Casale

Conservative and Unionist Party

Geoffrey Charles Van Orden, John Christopher Flack, Joe Rich, Thomas Rhys Hughes McLaren, Joel Ralph Charles, Wazz Mughal, Thomas Roger Smith

English Democrats

Robin Charles Tilbrook, Charles Jeremy Vickers, Bridget Lee Vickers, Paul Kevin Wiffen

Green Party

Catherine Rowett, Rupert Read, Martin Schmierer, Fiona Radic, Paul Jeater, Pallavi Devulapalli, Jeremy Caddick

Labour Party

Alex Mayer, Chris Vince, Sharon Taylor, Alvin Shum, Anna Smith, Adam Scott, Javeria Hussain

Liberal Democrats

Barbara Ann Gibson, Lucy Kathleen Nethsingha, Fionna Margaret Ruth Tod, Stephen John Robinson, Sandy Walkington, Marie Clare Goldman, Jules Ewart

The Brexit Party

Richard James Tice, Michael Eric Heaver, June Alison Mummery, Paul Joseph Hearn, Priscilla Mary Huby, Sean Robert John Lever, Edmund John Fordham


Stuart John Agnew, Paul Oakley, Elizabeth Eirwen Jones, William Ashpole, Alan Graves, John Richard Wallace, John Whitby

Unaffiliated independent

Attila Csordas

St Albans & Harpenden Review:

(Croxley Green Baptist Church polling station)

Send us your polling station pictures

We're keen to see your polling station photos - even better if you have brought your dog!

If you'd like to submit a photo and/or tell us why you feel it's important to vote today, send an email to