The Brexit Party dominated the vote across the East of England region to emerge with the most seats after tonight's European Parliament Election count.

Across the counties of Essex, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire and Norfolk, 1,603,017 people voted on Thursday out of an electorate of 4,407,975, with a turnout of 36.37 per cent and a total of 9,589 rejected votes.

Read more: How St Albans voted

The Brexit Part polled 604,715, almost 38 per cent of the total, with their nearest rivals the Liberal Democrats on 361,563 votes, or 22.62 per cent.

Fellow remainers The Green Party came third, with 202,460 votes (12.67 per cent), followed by the Conservatives on 163,830 votes (10.25 per cent) and then Labour on 139,490 (8.73 per cent).

Change UK, a party formed by breakaway pro-Remain Labour and Conservative MPs, polled 58,274 votes, or 3.65 per cent.

This means the seven MEPs for the region are:

  • Richard Tice, Brexit Party
  • Michael Heaver, Brexit Party
  • June Mummery, Brexit Party
  • Barbara Gibson, Liberal Democrat
  • Lucy Nethsingha, Liberal Democrat
  • Catherine Rowett, Green
  • Geoffrey Van Orden, Conservative

Mr Van Orden was the only Conservative to retain his seat.

Labour's Alex Mayer lost hers.

Newly elected Green MEP Catherine Rowett said: "The results of this election speak loud and clear: the Eastern Region has a Green MEP for the first time. This is a vote for real change, and it reflects the view of thousands of voters who want to see a different kind of politics.

"As Greens we have put forward a clear position to remain in the EU, to work across borders on the climate emergency, and to secure a better future for people and planet.

"I will be honoured to represent this region in the European Parliament and will strive to work for the Green future that voters have supported."

The full results are as follows:

Change UK The Independent Group: 58,274 votes (3.65%)

Conservative and Unionist Party: 163,830 votes (10.25%)

English Democrats: 10,217 votes (0.64%)

Green Party: 202,460 votes (12.67%)

Labour Party: 139,490 votes (8.73%)

Liberal Democrats: 361,563 votes (22.62%)

The Brexit Party: 604,715 votes (37.83%)

UK Independence Party (UKIP): 54,676 votes (3.42%)

Independent (Attila Csordas): 3,230 votes (0.20%)