All but one of the Hertfordshire MPs have revealed who they voted for in the first round of votes in the Conservative Leadership race.

When contacted by the Watford Observer, Hertsmere MP Oliver Dowden revealed that he cast his vote for Boris Johnson, with Hemel Hempstead MP Mike Penning also supporting Mr Johnson.

South West Hertfordshire MP David Gauke did not follow suit, instead voting for Rory Stewart - the Secretary of State for International Development - in the first round of votes.

Watford MP Richard Harrington has yet to reveal how he voted.

More than 300 Tory MPs voted in the first round of the leadership election yesterday after Theresa May announced her resignation as Prime Minister last Friday.

Boris Johnson took a commanding lead in the first round, securing 114 in total, 71 votes ahead of his nearest rival.

The former foreign secretary, who resigned in July 2018 in criticism of Theresa May's approach to Brexit, has said Britain must leave the EU by October 31 but that he would prefer not to have a no-deal exit.

Jeremy Hunt was the closest candidate to Mr Johnson, receiving 43 votes, meaning both candidates secured their places in the second round of votes.

Michael Gove took the third highest number of votes at 37, with Dominic Raab, Sajid Javid, Matt Hancock and Rory Stewart the remaining candidates to have gone through.

Mr Stewart received the fewest votes of those heading into the second round, taking only 19 in total.

Andrea Leadsom, Mark Harper and Esther McVey were eliminated from the race as they secured less than 17 votes.

The next round of voting will take place next Tuesday. All candidates will need to secure at least 33 votes.

Next Wednesday a third ballot will happen and if there are still more than two candidates, a fourth and fifth ballot will take place.

The final two candidates will then face a nation-wide election, with all Conservative Party members able to vote for either of them.