Families and friends gathered in the city to watch students as they received their degrees.

A total of 17,000 people gathered at St Albans Cathedral between Monday, September 2 and Tuesday, September 10 for the University of Hertfordshire’s 2019 graduation ceremonies.

There were 18 ceremonies at the cathedral, which marked the end of students’ courses.

University of Hertfordshire secretary and registrar Sue Grant said: “Our graduation ceremonies are a highlight of the academic calendar for students and staff alike, as we have the opportunity to celebrate the dedication, hard work and well-deserved achievements of our students.

St Albans & Harpenden Review:

University students at graduation in St Albans Cathedral photo: Tempest Photography

“With more than 96 per cent of our students employed or in further study within the first six months of graduation, we hope that our 2019 graduates go on to enjoy great success in the next stage of their lives.

“We wish them all the very best and look forward to keeping in touch as their careers develop and flourish.”

Awards were presented by Lord Salisbury, Chancellor; Professor Quintin McKellar, Vice-Chancellor; Professor Ian Campbell, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Dr Lynn Drummond, Chairman of the Board of Governors.

St Albans & Harpenden Review:

University of Hertordshire students outside of St Albans Cathedral. Photo: Tempest Photography

People who received the awards were:

  • Professor William Webb for his contribution to wireless technology and engineering.
  • Funke Abimbola for her contribution to corporate and social diversity.
  • Firoz Rasul for his contribution to education and business in the developing world and beyond.
  • Gordon Morrison for his charitable work and contribution to the business of the University of Hertfordshire.
  • Professor John Pickett for his contributions to biological chemistry.
  • Dame Mary Richardson for her help to education.
  • Professor David Docherty for his contribution to university business collaboration across the UK.
  • Rebecca Hilsenrath for her contribution to the legal profession and human rights.