The Wickes store in St Albans has reopened today with new social distancing measures to keep staff and customers safe. 

The DIY chain announced that all of its 220 stores will be open by the end of this month, with 106 of them opening today. The remaining 108 will open their doors next Tuesday (May 19). 

The national retailer previously opened six stores and following the trial period, the DIY company has taken the next steps to reopen all its branches. 

What new rules will be in place for shoppers?

The new social distancing rules include a limit on the number of customers who will be allowed in the store at a time, as well as safety markers on the floor. 

Sanitising stations will also be available for customers to use.

What are the new opening times?

The opening hours at the reopened stores will be shorter.

In St Albans, the store will open 7am to 4pm Mondays to Saturdays. The trading hours on Sundays remain unchanged, which are 10am to 4pm.

'Safety is a priority'

David Wood, the CEO of Wickes, said: “The safety of our colleagues and customers is always our absolute priority.

"In recent weeks we have taken time to review in great detail how to operate our stores safely in the wake of Covid-19 and we are confident we have put the right measures in place to achieve this.

"We have measured the customers' experience in the Wickes trial stores, with eight out of ten describing their experience as ‘excellent’ with regard to feeling ‘safe and secure’.

"This positive customer feedback is only possible thanks to the hard work of our store colleagues.

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of them for how they have responded to the challenges posed by the pandemic in shifting focus to successfully serve our customers through click and collect and home delivery.

"We look forward to welcoming our customers back through our doors in the weeks ahead.”

Here is the full list of stores reopening today:

  • Aintree
  • Andover
  • Ashford
  • Ashton Gate
  • Aylesbury
  • Baguley
  • Banbury
  • Barnsley
  • Beverley
  • Bishops Stortford
  • Blackpool
  • Bognor
  • Bracknell
  • Brentwood
  • Bridgend
  • Bridgwater
  • Brighton
  • Broadstairs
  • Bulwell
  • Burton
  • Bury
  • Caerphilly
  • Cannock
  • Catford
  • Chadwell Heath
  • Chippenham
  • Cirencester
  • Corby
  • Croydon OLD
  • Darlington
  • Derby
  • Dorking
  • Dumfries
  • East Grinstead
  • Eastbourne
  • Edinburgh
  • Edmonton
  • Grimsby
  • Guildford
  • Halesowen
  • Halifax
  • Handsworth
  • Hanger Lane
  • Havant
  • Haverfordwest
  • Hayes
  • Hedge End
  • High Wycombe
  • Hull
  • Huntingdon
  • Kettering
  • Kings Lynn
  • Kingston
  • Lancaster
  • Lincoln
  • Littlehampton
  • Loughton
  • Luton
  • Maidstone
  • Maldon
  • Martlesham
  • Midsomer
  • Milton Keynes
  • Newbury
  • Northallerton
  • Northampton
  • Norwich
  • Notts Central
  • Notts North
  • Nuneaton
  • Oldham
  • Peterborough
  • Pontefract
  • Reading
  • Rugby
  • Rushden
  • Salisbury
  • Scunthorpe
  • Sheffield North
  • Shipley
  • Sittingbourne
  • South Shields
  • St Albans
  • Stafford
  • Staines
  • Stockton
  • Sunderland
  • Sutton
  • Swindon
  • Tamworth
  • Tottenham
  • Truro
  • Tunbridge
  • Tunstall
  • Wallsend
  • Waltham Cross
  • Warrington
  • Watford
  • Weston
  • Winsford
  • Wisbech
  • Wolverhampton
  • Worksop
  • Wrexham