Harpenden Swimming Club secured two third-place finishes as they entered two teams into the Hertfordshire Major League for the first time.

In Division One, the established team swam well to claim third-place behind Watford and Hoddesdon, recording nine second-place finishes and 13 third-places.

There were wins for Claire Burrell in the Under-12s 50m backstroke, Katialin Dang in the Under-14s 100m breaststroke, John Telensky in the Under-12s 50m butterfly and the Under-12s girls medley relay team of Claire Burrell, Libby Trayling, Nicole Fletcher and Ellie Galvin.

In Division Three, the up-and-coming swimmers also notched a second-place finish behind Hemel Hempstead and Hoddesdon.

There were 29 Harpenden swimmers in action and they claimed 12 first-place finishes, 11 seconds and eight thirds.

The Under-12s boy’s team of Eddie Campfield, Robbie McCabe, Joe Munroe, Matt Tester-Wilson and Guy Muncer stormed to victory in both of their relays, whilst McCabe also claimed first place in both the U12s 25m breaststroke and 25m freestyle.

An Under-14s boy’s team of James Whatmore, Bryn Rigarlsford, Chris Phillips and Chris Fletcher also won both of their relays, with Phillips also winning the Under-14s 50m backstroke. Charlotte Morris won the Under-16s 50m breaststroke whilst the in the Under-12s Ruby Mulgan won the 25m fly.

The Under-14s girl’s team of Laura-Jane Buckley, Alice Dyson, Amelia Spittal and Molly Whatmore won their freestyle relay, and the girls also enjoyed success with Whatmore in the 50m freestyle and Buckley in the 50m backstroke.

Over the next two weekends the club also held their annual 200m Club Championships. Many swimmers were looking to achieve their final few County qualifying times at the meet, and over the two nights there were more than 30 new or improved County qualifying times set.

There were also three new Championship records from Josh Duggan, a single 10 year-old entrant in the 200m fly in Alice Richardson and two great battles in 200m fly races between Claire Burrell, Katialin Dang, Nicole Fletcher and Darcey Lucas.