Two Ryder Cup stars will represent England in a new 16-nation European Tour event in Hertfordshire in May.

Andy Sullivan and Chris Wood will line up together for the host nation at GolfSixes at Centurion Club in St Albans on May 6 and 7.

The names of the 32 players for the innovative new event have been confirmed by the European Tour and as well as the English pairing, Nicolas Colsaerts, Alexander Levy, Matteo Manassero and Brandon Stone are also set to compete in the six-hole tournament.

BMW PGA champion Wood told the European Tour website: “Sully and I are good mates and I think we make a good team. We’ve both had amazing experiences in the past representing Europe at the Ryder Cup, and England at the World Cup of Golf.

“With the countries who are taking part, there could be some pretty intriguing rivalries thrown up and I’m sure we’ll see plenty of passion from the players and the fans. It’s a fresh new format and I think that’s very welcome on golf right now. It should be an entertaining weekend and I’m interested to see how it all works with the innovations inside and outside the ropes.”

Those innovations include amphitheatre-style stands around the tees and greens, music and pyrotechnics as the 16 nations are split into four groups of four on Saturday, May 6. The top two from each group will then progress to the knockout stages the following day.

An advanced ticket offer for the tournament has been extended for a further six days. This means adult tickets can still be bought for just £6 from until Saturday.

The full list of participating GolfSixes countries and players is:

1) England: Chris Wood, Andy Sullivan

2) Italy: Matteo Manassero, Renato Paratore

3) Thailand: Thongchai Jaidee, Kiradech Aphibarnrat

4) India: S.S.P Chawrasia, Chikkarangappa S

5) Australia: Sam Brazel, Scott Hend

6) Denmark: Thorbjørn Olesen, Lucas Bjerregaard

7) France: Alexander Levy, Grégory Bourdy

8) Netherlands: Joost Luiten, Reinier Saxton

9) Sweden: Kristoffer Broberg, Joakim Lagergren

10) Spain: Pablo Larrazábal, Alejandro Cañizares

11) Scotland: Richie Ramsay, Marc Warren

12) South Africa: Darren Fichardt, Brandon Stone

13) USA: Paul Peterson, David Lipsky

14) Wales: Bradley Dredge, Jamie Donaldson

15) Belgium: Nicolas Colsaerts, Thomas Detry

16) Portugal: Ricardo Gouveia, José-Filipe Lima